Prayer: A Pointless Endeavor

Hey! Cynical me, here. I know anyone who reads this will likely disagree and that’s ok. My opinion won’t be a popular one, but I’m not in a caring mood today.

Prayer is pointless. There. I said it. And I really think it’s true with every fiber of my being. You’re not going to change God’s mind. You’re not going to change the future. I appreciate when people tell me they’re praying for me{us}. I really do. It’s because THEY think it does good and that’s really all they can do for us. That’s their way of helping and I love that people care enough to do it. And I love them for it. Do I think their prayer will actually be effective? Absolutely not. Prayer doesn’t solve problems. Prayer doesn’t cure infertility. Neither does church. Or reading a book. Or wearing/not wearing certain things. Or drinking/not drinking certain things. Or believing/not believing certain things. Things are the way the are and people who will murder their unborn children will continue to get pregnant while people who would make {and do make} amazing parents will never get pregnant. God doesn’t and won’t intervene.

So what’s the point of it? He doesn’t care enough to listen. Why should I even try?

Leave a Reply

